February 20, 2015

Blur announce a new album The Magic Whip in 2015

Blur has officially announced their new album titled "The Magic Whip" to be released on April 27 is available to pre-order from today.

Featuring a distinct Chinese theme, Blur announced their first album as a four-piece in 16 years at a live streamed Facebook event from Chinatown in London.

According to Blur, the recordings began during a five-day break in touring in Spring 2013 at Avon Studios in Hong Kong. Last.  November Graham Coxon revisited the tracks and, drafting in blur's early producer Stephen Street, he worked with the band on the material. Damon Albarn completed the songs by adding his lyrics and thus produced this new album.

blur the magic whip, new blur single, the magic whip, new blur album 2015, blur hyde park 2015, blur go out, blur new song, damon albarn magic whip, blur album

This is fantastic news for Blur fans, as no one expected a new Blur album to be released at such an early date. Previously, the band announced a comeback but had scheduled it for 2016/2017.

The band also announced they will headline British Summer Time Hyde Park on Saturday 20th June 2015. Tickets go on general sale at 9am, Friday 27 February from www.bst-hydepark.com.

The soundtrack for Blur's new 12 song album in 2015 will be:
  1. Lonesome Street
  2. New World Towers
  3. Go Out
  4. Ice Cream Man
  5. Thought I Was a Spaceman
  6. I Broadcast
  7. My Terracotta Heart
  8. There are Too Many of Us
  9. Ghost Ship
  10. Pyongyang
  11. Ong Ong
  12. Mirrorball
Watch the music video for their new single "Go Out" below.